COMMISSION FOR UNIVERSITY EDUCATION

ACCREDITATION REPORT

ON

MASINDE MULIRO UNIVERSITY OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY

VOLUME I

FEBRUARY, 2013

Acronyms

CDMHA Centre for Disaster Management and Humanitarian Assistance.

CEKATFOS Centre for Kakamega Tropical Forest Studies.

CHE Commission for Higher Education.

DCC Departmental Curriculum Committee.

DIAL International Relations and Academic Linkages.

DICTS Directorate of Information Communication Technology.

FE Faculty of Engineering.

FESS Faculty of Education and Social Sciences.

FS Faculty of Science.

ICT Information and Communication Technology.

IQA Internal Quality Assurance.

MMUST Masinde Muliro University of Science and Technology.

MOU Memorandum of Understanding

PME Performance Monitoring and Evaluation.

QAARC Quality Assurance Representatives Committee.

QAIC Quality Assurance Implementation Committee.

QAU Quality Assurance Unit.

QMS Quality Management Systems.

REL Research, Extension and Linkages.

SAVET School of Agriculture and Veterinary Technology.

SGS School of Graduate Studies.

SOBE School of Business and Economics.

SOLACE School of Open Learning and Continuing Education.

STPIL Science Technology Park and Industrial Linkages.

UNESCO United Nations Educational.

WECO Western College of Arts and Applied Sciences.

WUCST Western University College of Science and Technology.

Executive Summary

Masinde Muliro University of Science and Technology (MMUST), was established through the Act of parliament on 30th December, 2006 as the seventh public university in Kenya. It is the successor of WUCST that was established by legal notice No. 373 of 5th December, 2002. The organizational structure and management is based on the Act of Parliament of 30th December, 2006 which provides a legal framework that is encompassing and adequate to enable MMUST realize its vision and mission.

The Universities Act No.42 of 2012 Act repealed all the seven Public Universities Acts including the MMUST Act Cap 214. Accordingly, all Public Universities existing before the commencement of the Universities Act No.42 of 2012 were required to take steps prescribed under this Act (section 13 (1), including the an institutional audit, to obtain a Charter in accordance to section 72 (1). The purpose of the audit was to verify if MMUST had met the expected requirements for the award of Charter.

The Commission then established a panel of professionals to study the MMUST's Self-Assessment Report and use it as a basis for carrying out institutional audit (verification of the physical facilities and academic resources) at MMUST, and thereafter to develop and submit a report and recommendations for CUE's consideration and adoption.

The Commission for University Education audited MMUST in February 2013 and was satisfied that the institution had met minimum requirements in governance, Academic Programmes, and Academic resources. The University was expected to implement recommendations contained in the Accreditation and Audit Report in order to enhance the quality of teaching it offers to its students and play a greater role in the development of this country. A summary of the Commission's findings including an update of the current status is contained in this report.

The Commission for University Education recommended that MMUST be awarded a Charter. This accreditation report is in two (2) volumes:

- a) Volume 1 contains the Charter, Historical background, philosophical and the accreditation process that let to award of Charter; and
- b) Volume 2 contains the programmes offered by the University.